Day 23


It is official. I have totally lost my momentum. ūüė¶ This is a BAD thing. I still haven’t gotten started on the day. And I really don’t want to. I want my house clean, but the thought of doing it is oppressing. Anyone got any ideas?

I know that hour and a half I rolled for the Master Bath yesterday really needs doing. I WILL do it. Want to or not. But first I should load more Audible books in my Kindle. I finally finished 11/22/63. I enjoyed it. Maybe not King’s best, but I liked the subtle nods to past works, and found his premise very intriguing.

I realized I didn’t get the third week’s work chart posted yesterday either, so that’s on my To Do List, but it will be sad in comparison to the first two weeks. ūüėõ

Books downloading. Will start work soon, I promise!

UPDATE ONE: Well, I only managed about an hour before fumes and lack of oxygen overcame me, but I got the spots I was focusing on much improved. Except for my nemesis, but we’ll discuss that later.

Here are the before shots:

       

I know…cat lovers are cursing me. But there are¬†THREE¬†litter boxes for four cats around here, two of whom spend most of their time outside… No excuse, but I’ll try to be better.

I said in the beginning, my house needed a LOT of work. I’m being honest about that.

That shower floor is my utter nemesis. This is after I bleached it a week or so ago. About to tackle it again…but as you can see in the “after” shots:

       

Scrubbing with Ajax had no real effect. Anyone have any tips on how to clean a pebbled surface? It is driving me nuts, but I CANNOT get it clean!

Anyway, let’s see what is next:

An hour in the Study. My dice want me to get back to being able to work in there, I see!

See you on the flip side.

UPDATE TWO: It will be hard to tell from these pictures that I actually worked the full hour this time, and filled half a trash bag, but here are the Office shots (trying to switch from Study to Office, since it is less confusing with the Studio too.)

    

As you can see from the above, that pathway through to the back of the room I was so proud of the other day was soon lost in a need to shift some things around. I was really planning to work on getting it back today, but instead, I started working on the desk.

This is how far I got:

Might not look like much, but compare it to this¬†when you can’t even see the desk, and I got a lot done.

For one thing, I culled this pile of books that should be in the library rather than the Office:

They basically fill two-thirds of the chair. Little by little order from chaos.

Now, that’s two full hours down today, and I’m feeling better than I was…shall we go for three? Let’s see what the dice have to say:

15 minutes in the Studio. That is definitely doable.

 

UPDATE THREE: Especially with the shorter time frames, I pick a specific thing I want to get done and try to accomplish at least that. It makes you feel really good to get that targeted project done.

In this case, I wanted to get this lounge and its contents squared away.

Much of it was Christmas wrappings that go in the closet behind it, and the two boxes are books that need to go down to the library. (We have a metric F**k ton of books — pardon my French.)

Fifteen minutes later:

Books are still sitting by the door to go down, but the area is cleaned up and sorted out. Go me!

Two hours and fifteen minutes today, but I am getting a bit of a head ache. I don’t want to push it into a relapse, so I am going to call that a good day. I may file during Castle to make up the lost time tonight.

DAILY WRAP UP: One hour in Master Bath + one hour in Office + 15 minutes in Studio = 2 hours and 15 minutes. That’s a big step up from most of last week.

 

About RieSheridanRose

Rie Sheridan Rose multitasks. A lot. Her short stories appear in numerous anthologies, including Nightmare Stalkers and Dream Walkers Vols. 1 and 2,  and Killing It Softly. She has authored eight novels, six poetry chapbooks, and lyrics for dozens of songs. She tweets as @RieSheridanRose.
This entry was posted in General comments and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 23

  1. Good luck with it. If nothing else, you got a blog post written today – that’s more than some.

Leave a Reply

