Day 28


Newell was VERY pleased by the kitchen last night, particularly his counter being clean and the microwave being science-fiction level shiny. Of course, then he made something for dinner that dripped cheese sauce in the microwave…but I cleaned it up before it settled in to live.

Called Amazon last night, and they are replacing my Kindle at a discount even though it was out of warranty, so it will be here Tuesday. I think I can hold out that long.

I forgot to caution pet-lovers who clean…be vigilant. Even with three litter boxes, someone decided the box of file folders and assorted papers sitting on the floor to be filed was a great place to take a whizz. Or more, probably, several.

I caught Sunshine at it, and scolded him severely, but the damage had been done. Still need those bills, so can’t toss them, but they are drying out. And the box has been moved somewhere that I don’t think will be a problem until they do.

Some days I look around and get chills about how far we’ve come in the past month — and pride in the fact that it has BEEN almost a month and I’m still going. Other days (or sometimes different looks on the same day) I realize how far there is yet to go! You won’t be rid of me for a while, that’s for sure. 😉

First roll of the day is 30 minutes in the Kitchen. I need to get that floor done, and this seems like a perfect roll for it. Need to eat a bite first so I can take a pill, and then to work!

UPDATE ONE: Boo for textured linoleum! It is a PITA to mop…but the house was built without my input before Newell and I met. And it is holding up pretty well, I’ve got to give it that. Still, will either have to move all the appliances or get down on my hands and knees to get the floor totally clean. A major improvement with the first pass though, and the dishwasher needs to be pulled out to access the problem anyway…

Before:

           

It is hard to get the full impact of the mess on the light gray floor, but I think you get the idea…

After:

             As I say, still not perfect, but a thousand times better just the same.

Next job for the day:  Back to the Kitchen for another hour. I think I hear some dishes calling my name…

UPDATE TWO: Have almost completely emptied the “To Be Washed” dish pile. I am pleased. 🙂

Need to replace the garbage disposal too. Have been forgetting to put it on the list. Cleared a lot of gunk out of the disposal side of the sink. Stuff still gets in occasionally, but there is nothing to grind it up and make sure it goes on down now. It was yucky. Scrubbed that side of the sink with Comet Cleanser, and it is much better.

        Sink before…                                                           and after

More dishes done:

And a few yet to go:

That counter is almost clean too!

Fifteen minutes in the Living Room next.

UPDATE THREE: Fifteen minutes in this case was just a little straightening. Not really anything worth taking pictures of, but every little bit helps.

We’re up to an hour and forty-five minutes today. Wonder what is next?

I’ve been rolled back into the living room for another hour and a half.

That would finish my day. I’m just not sure there is that much more work to do first pass in the living room. I hate to get too far in one room when other rooms really need work. But on the other hand, the living room being presentable for company would be a nice thing too. So, I’ll take it. 🙂

And this time, I will take some pictures.

UPDATE FOUR: One thing about having an open plan house for the most part is that there are some little areas that sort of don’t belong to any room. One of those was a little piece of floor between the Kitchen proper and the carpet of the Living Room. It’s been bugging me for weeks, so I decided to clean it up. Between that and the toy box (yes, I have a toy box, and yes, it is full of toys and games) behind the couch that had been collecting stuff (including Christmas candy from 2010…) I had plenty to take 90 minutes. That included sorting stuff into piles for the rooms they belonged in, deciding to donate some things to Texas Paralyzed Veterans who are coming on the 11th, and throwing out the chocolate.

You can see how badly these two little spaces needed help:

       

No man’s land before                                             Toy box before

But now they are all prettified. 🙂

      

No man’s land after                                               Toy box after

That’s where our shoes are SUPPOSED to live. And the candle collection was a wedding present. It looks much nicer all showcased than knocked over and scattered.

DAILY WRAP UP: 30 minutes in the Kitchen + an hour in the Kitchen + 15 minutes in the Living Room + 90 minutes in the Living Room = 3 hours and 15 minutes of solid cleaning and visible results. See you tomorrow!

About RieSheridanRose

Rie Sheridan Rose multitasks. A lot. Her short stories appear in numerous anthologies, including Nightmare Stalkers and Dream Walkers Vols. 1 and 2,  and Killing It Softly. She has authored eight novels, six poetry chapbooks, and lyrics for dozens of songs. She tweets as @RieSheridanRose.
This entry was posted in General comments and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

