7/20/12


What a day!

I was sitting out on my front porch this morning when I heard a thud and a cry. Looked across the street, and Rita had tripped over an uneven edge of the sidewalk. We had a hard time getting her up, because she had really wracked one knee, and her wrist was swelling. I offered to cal 911, but she wanted to call a family member to take her to the hospital instead, so I let her. Turns out she broke her arm in two places. Poor thing.

Lauren and “Rapunzel,” as my father calls her, got there shortly after, and we went and got something to eat at Kerbey Lane before we settled in to cleaning. What little Lauren would let me do. She kept insisting it was my birthday present so I should just sit down and let her do it all.

Well, I didn’t quite go for that, but she did do the majority of what got done today. The dishes are finished, the cat fountain is cleaned out again, the floors are swept and mopped, the stove and microwave got wiped down (I did that part.) The small bathroom was straightened and swept. Not a bad day. Here are my helpers at work:

          

Lauren sweeps up                                   Rapunzel looks more like Cinderella…

      

I like the silhouette quality here…   She loved the magnets (my job was distraction)

The Princess in her handmade crown. I sent her home with a few magnets of her own.

I took Rita one of the rosebuds from the dozen that Lauren had given me Sunday along with some Hersey’s Kisses I had in the fridge. And I sent the girls home with a bag too. I can’t really eat them any more, and Newell isn’t a chocolate fan. But this way, everybody won.

Here are my roses as they were Sunday. Now they are on my bedside table, perfuming my sleep. I gave Rita one of the little red ones. There were three each of four colors…or maybe it was four each of three colors…doesn’t really matter. They were gorgeous–and still are. It is almost time to start to dry them, but I have really been enjoying the scent.

After the busy bees left, I walked over to meet Newell at Chuy’s for our Friday night dinner. It was lovely. I had a passionfruit margarita. Hadn’t had one of those before, but it was yummy. Not on my diet…but sometimes you just gotta live a little.

Well, that’s it for me tonight. See y’all tomorrow.

About RieSheridanRose

Rie Sheridan Rose multitasks. A lot. Her short stories appear in numerous anthologies, including Nightmare Stalkers and Dream Walkers Vols. 1 and 2,  and Killing It Softly. She has authored eight novels, six poetry chapbooks, and lyrics for dozens of songs. She tweets as @RieSheridanRose.
This entry was posted in General comments, Photographs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

