12/6/12


Another lazy day in the parking garage playing with my tablet. I know… I am a bad girl. 😦

Currently up to Red Chrysanthemum in Laura Joh Rowand‘s Sano Ichiro series, and I told her on Facebook that I can only read a chapter or two at a time before I have to set it aside and calm down. That’s because she has built such a bond with her main characters that now they are in dire peril and being accused of horrible things that I cannot believe are possible for them, I am too emotionally invested to put up with it. Now THAT is good writing right there! I highly, highly, highly recommend these books. This is number 11 in the series, and I can’t get enough of them. They are set in 17th century Edo, Japan, which is another point in their favor. Fascinating history.

Got another favorable feedback on the Steampunk novel today, so I will probably be working on that soon — probably next week, since tomorrow is the 10th anniversary of the day Newell and I met. We went to see a concert some friends were performing, and I never went back to the house I was sharing with a friend. We’ve been together ever since. I like to say we are still on our first date. 😉

Have been invited to a private showing of The Hobbit next Friday morning, and just sent off the money for our tickets. I can’t wait!

So, no cleaning today either, but hope it was interesting anyway. Till tomorrow.

About RieSheridanRose

Rie Sheridan Rose multitasks. A lot. Her short stories appear in numerous anthologies, including Nightmare Stalkers and Dream Walkers Vols. 1 and 2,  and Killing It Softly. She has authored eight novels, six poetry chapbooks, and lyrics for dozens of songs. She tweets as @RieSheridanRose.
This entry was posted in General comments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 12/6/12

  1. Piracetam says:

    This was a favorite series of mine at one time. I still love Sano Ichiro and his wife Reiko, but Rowland got repetitive. The Snow Empress was a definite change of pace which I enjoyed. This book, however, is fairly usual. I did like the role that Reiko played in helping a couple of the woman victims and the way the book resolved.

Leave a Reply

